VS Code Extensions That Boost My Productivity

VS Code Extensions That Boost My Productivity

·

3 min read

There are no doubts that VSCode is one of the best code editors today, it is open-source and lightweight. It has a hugeee dedicated community of developers who are constantly working to improve the software.

Which brings me to my next point, the marketplace. There is a huge library of extensions available in VSCode’s Marketplace created by the dedicated community of developers. From extensions that teaches you on how to code painlessly to productive extensions that make development processes more efficient, there’s something for every kind of developer.

Below is a list to some of my favourite VSCode extensions that I use all the time, but this list is by no means exhaustive and the extensions that I use can potentially change depending on what my needs are at the time.

🔍 GitLens

Supercharge your Git capabilities built into Visual Studio Code —Visualize code authorship at a glance via Git blame annotations and code lens, seamlessly navigate and explore Git repositories, gain valuable insights via powerful comparison commands, and so much more

I used GitLens all the time to visualised the parts that my team members are working on and if there is something I couldn’t understand from a part where the annotation info was simply not enough, I can just reach out to my team member of that commit to find out more.
extension link here

🌳 Todo Tree

Quickly searches (using ripgrep) your workspace for comment tags like TODO and FIXME, and displays them in a tree view in the explorer pane. Clicking a TODO within the tree will open the file and put the cursor on the line containing the TODO.

There are times where I came across a bug or realised things can be simplified when implementing a new feature and I didn’t want to be sidetrack doing something else while forgetting to do what I was supposed to be doing. This todo come in handy to put a quick note on some of the tasks that I should revisit after doing my main task.
extension link here

🎧 VSCode Spotify

Use Spotify inside vscode. Provides integration with Spotify Desktop client.

It is what the extension name is. I love Spotify and I used it all the time to play my music. In fact ever since using Spotify, I never look back. There are time where I am in the zone while building a new feature, and I didn’t like to keep switching between windows to know what was the great song I was listening to. So this allowed me to know what music is currently playing.
extension link here

📝 Vetur

Vue tooling for VS Code.

As a Vue developer, this is gold. It provides syntax-highlighting, semantic-highlighting, snippets, formatting, IntelliSense and more. When I found out about this extension, I was so happy as it provides auto-complete suggestions for both CSS and HTML as well as any Vue.js declarations like v-bind or v-for and Vue properties like created or computed.

If you are a Vue developer, I am not sure what more to say to convince you how amazing this extension is. Just get this extension, it will make your development so so much better.
extension link here

For now these are my daily extensions. Check back here once in awhile as I will update or add more amazing extensions that I find useful.